What does it say when a man won't pay for dinner?

What does it say when a man doesn't pay for dinner?

• He believes in new age feminism where a woman pays too.

Votes: 18 14.8%
  • He thinks since your both broke, you should understand.

Votes: 10 8.2%
  • He's cheap.

Votes: 90 73.8%
  • He's poor.

Votes: 27 22.1%
  • Other

Votes: 31 25.4%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

frida1980

I just found this post on another message board.

I went out for a dinner date with this girl recently and we had a nice dinner. Once we were done though, I got the check from the waiter and told her what her half was. The look she gave me was murderous and after that it was a very awkward goodbye.

I really hate that as a guy you're expected to pay for a meal. I'm in university and I'm studying not making money why should I foot the girl's bill as well?

I was a little stunned. In my experience, if you're dating it's well known that the guy is going to pay. If not, it's not a date. His situation is a little different since the girl suggested that they do something together, rather than him as her out. But then I asked myself, how would I feel if someone took me out to dinner and wanted me to pay? Um... Well I think he wants to be friends. After a few more dates, I think he's hard on cash.
And then after a few months, and he says that we're dating or boyfriend/girlfriend, and he still won't pay I'd say he's cheap or triffling. There are some girls that prefer it that way. But honestly, what does it say when a man that wants to date you won't pay?

Last edited:
Won't pay? HAHA...I can't even imagine that. What'd he do when the bill came? Just sit there and look at his date like "what??"?? Pretend like he didn't notice that the bill has come?? Get up and walk to the bathroom and wait for his date outside? :lol: :lol: :lol:

If a man won't pay for a romantic date, it says he has no pride as a man.