He Lied About His Job...

NYLegalNewbie

So, about a month and a half ago or so, I went out with my friend, as well as a bunch of her friends, her boyfriend and a few of her boyfriend's friends. One of her boyfriend's friends was a pretty cute guy who was checking me out from the moment he got there. We chatted and he seemed nice. He asked me what I did and I told him (I'm an attorney at a large law firm in Manhattan), however, I didn't ask him what he did in return at that moment. We continued talking, and he mentioned something about working late, and I was like "What the heck do you do that makes you have to work so late?" And he responded, "Oh, I'm a security guard."

I'll admit, my interest level decreased quite a bit. Whenever I meet a guy who I know makes a lot less than me, a flood of questions goes through my head - I wonder if we'd really have much to talk about or much in common. I also wonder if both of us would be okay with the income disparity (i.e. would he feel emasculated). And, because I've found myself in this situation before, I wonder if I'll be looked to to foot the bill for everything.

We continued talking for a bit, and then I went off to talk to some of my other friends and my friend's friends. We spoke a few times the rest of the night, but not a whole ton. When I left, I made sure to say bye to him, but he didn't ask for my number. I would've given it to him if he would've asked - he was an attractive guy, nice and funny, so, why not?

So, the other day, I saw my friend and she was mentioning to me, "Oh, my boyfriend's friend really liked you A LOT. But, here's the crazy thing...I found out that he LIED to you about what he does. He's an attorney too!"

I was like "WTF!?!?!? WHY?"

Her: "I dunno...but my boyfriend says he does that to women sometimes."