Assumptions Made Because You Have Long Hair

MsLizziA

This is a spinoff from the thread, Assumptions Made Because You're Natural.

Ladies, what kind of comments do you get because your hair is long BESIDES the whole "mixed" thing. I know thas like #1 on everybody else list. But what are some other ones. I am curious.... whether your relaxed or natural, doesn't matter.

What kind of grease are you using? Yes, I still get that question.
I bet your mom has long hair.
Of course the "are you mixed or what island are you from" questions.
What products are you using to make your hair so long and thick? I don't stick with a product long enough to know:lachen:
What's the secret?

All these questions annoy me very much.

I'm a newbie,
Hands down worst assumption that trumps all. Out in public going about my business and a 73 year old Hispanic male asks, "Where did you buy your hair?" First, aren't you too old and not part of the "weave demographic" to know that some people like to wear extensions for whatever reason? So, I removed my wide brimmed straw hat (summertime in the South) and allowed the gentlemen to touch and see that my hair does in fact grow fom my scalp. The resulting assumption: (wait for it)

Well, then, you must be Indian because black women don't have long, silky hair. Mind you, I'm dark-skinned, (medium) full lips and he just up and decided to change my ethnicity altogether because he couldn't reconcile the fact that black women have hair that moves when the wind blows.

I found out his age because he then proceeded to tell me that although he was 73, he was quite virile and could still make good strong babies and he had 7 tall strong sons to prove it. This is kinda the part where a threw up a little bit in my mouth and bid him good day. I had to leave that offer in the street. No proof required, lol. :blush:

I assume I WILL get that tug or a feel through.

That has already happened.
rolleyes.gif