Tired of being that "single friend"...

Kkinds

This is a spin off from the last thread I just wrote. I just feel like venting tonight I guess. I kind of want to make it work with this dude because I'm tired of being the "single friend". All my close friends are married, engaged or in a serious long term relationship. I was having fun dating around until I realized I'm about to be the last one on the single bus. It got annoying. I'm in several wedding and everybody is flashing a ring in my face all the time. I'm honestly happy for them, but it's putting the pressure on me. I'm only 24 so I didn't think my life was off track at all...I mean I have a great career, 2 degrees(Bachelors and Masters) and I'm getting ready to start a PhD program. I have a 2 year old, but I'm not a single mom. She has an amazing dad and we have a great friendship. He pays child-support faithfully and always spends time with her so I can have time to do whatever I want. I thought everything was fine in my life until I started getting slick comments from my associates like "so what man are you dating now" or "you always have a new dude" ugh it's not like I'm sleeping with them I'm just dating and meeting people. Is that really a big deal? I'm fairly attractive so dudes always approach me and since I was single I dated. Simple as that. Now I met someone who seemed to have the potential, but turned out to have some issues I'm thinking a out just making it work so I won't be judged so much. And it's not just because they're getting married that forced me to want a relationship, but I really do want something for myself. He's awesome, but the baggage is hitting me all at one time. I want someone, but I don't mind dating until I met the right one. Kind of confusing, right? Ugh I don't know what to do with myself right now. Oh and I also hear the "maybe your standards are too high" but the way I see it marriage is forever so I'm not willing to settle, I'll compromise, but boy settle. I honestly don