I facebook messaged him... now what??

isawstars

There is this guy at my university's gym, who I've been eyeing recently... A few months ago I asked one of my guy friends about him and they were actually roommates one year. My friend offered to introduce me to him. However, warned me that he tried to fix him up with another girl and she said that it was difficult to have a conversation with him. So naturally, I declined.

Now that I've been seeing him at the gym consistently, I told myself I'd speak to him. But for some reason I've been too shy to speak to this fellow and that is unlike me! So last night, my best friend convinced me to send him a facebook message. I've never done that before but she said that if he's interested he will respond back... and of course that phrase, "what's the worst thing that could happen?--he won't respond, that's it."

I messaged him saying, "Hey. I've seen you at the gym a few times and just wanted to say hi..." And he messaged me back today saying "Hey, I've seen you too lol." Now I am thinking. Now what??

My friend told me I should shoot a message back saying "When's the next time you're going? Maybe I could teach you a thing or two...*wink*" But I don't know if that's the route to go with him. From what I've been told he's a devout Christian, doesn't drink, plays pick up basketball at the student center, and wasn't outgoing when set up with a girl once.

I would wait until I saw him at the gym to see if he approaches you. I would not message him via facebook anymore unless he asks you a question and/or tries to engage you in a conversation. To me the ball is in his court now. I would not chase him.

Hmmm...if he's a sincere christian then self-respect is important to him (always keep that in mind no matter what).

To play it safe ease up on the facebook messaging. Sounds as though you are chasing him. If anything get your friend/his ex-roomate to do the introduction and take it from there.