(Vent) My mom's derogatory statements about my hair...

yuhlovevybz

Here I am minding my own business taking down my puff and my mom walks by my door looks at my hair and says 'Are you going to wear it like that on your drill weekend? You might wanna straighten it so it's not all nappy'

Ummmm lady I've been natural for THREE YEARS I don't wanna here your crap about how nappy you think my hair is and how it should be straight! Leave me alone.

Ok idk maybe I'm feeling sensitive but I'm just learning to like my hair naps and all so when somebody just walks by unprovoked and insults it it pisses me off after three years three freaking years I stopped pressing and frying and weaving my hair and I REALLY REALLY REALLY like it so why would you come by and INSULT me for no reason! Yes I'm going outside like this, I'll go on a date like this, I'll go to a job interview, I'll go on duty, I'll go wherever the heck I please and YES MY HAIR WILL BE NAPPY so HOP OFF!!!

:catfight:

Last edited:
I understand. I'm transitioning, my mother and I don't even live in the same country and she's still feels the need to clown on my hair. And it offended me to hell and back when we were last together and she kept pointing out other naturals (rocking their fros and puffs) asking me if my hair will look "like that." I know it's just ignorance but God knows...He knows I can. Not. Stand. It. I was like good riddance when I dropped her behind at the airport.

Hang in there. Sometimes I wonder if moms really struggle with their daughters going natural because it really makes them question themselves, especially if they were the one that initiated the daughter getting their first relaxer as a child.

I feel u. It's hard on moms sometimes.

i know u can't ignore her. But stand your ground.

You are doing the right thing.