~~~Big chop - 27.5 inches GONE!!! PICS!!!~~~

dachsies_rule!

Finally, all natural after transitioning for 20 weeks!
My story:
I had my first relaxer at age 7 after my momma couldn’t find anymore beauticians willing to press my hair. They said it was too thick and unmanageable (really they said nappy :ohwell:). My hair stayed thick up until about 6 years ago when it started breaking and thinning. Around the same time my scalp started to be sore constantly, so I went to a dermatologist. After he got over the shock that I had been putting lye on my head for 20+ years (every 5 weeks) he told me my days of relaxing were over. He said “you’re chewing up your skin with a harsh chemical and you’re asking me why your scalp is sore.” Well, I wasn’t trying to hear it, I was of the mentality of ‘relaxed til I die!’
So, I joined LHCF in 2007 and lurked until I finally got serious in 2009 (1st pic). I retained 7” the first year, but it was so thin looking because of the constant breakage (2nd pic). I self-trimmed 2.5” last July (3rd pic) but it still kept thinning. I let my stylist trim about 7” in October, up to the thickest part (4th pic). Three days before my Feb relaxer appt. I decided to transition. It had been in the back of my mind all these years, I just always assumed my hair was uncombable :lachen:(yeah, I made that up) without some type of chemical intervention. I had been talking to some ladies at my job that are natural and one of them said “grow it out and see what your texture is, if you don’t like it you can always relax again.”
So, my last relaxer was Dec 18th. In April I got another 8” cut to minimize the tangling between the 2 textures (5th pic). Last week, I was ready and went to get my BC (6th and 7th pic), another 10” gone(8th pic). She cut me down to 2” all around, I am so pleased with it. And with the hell-hotness of Texas, I’m gonna enjoy it until it grows out :grin:
Now the pics