You can't get a tattoo...

pinkchocolatedaisy

But don't tell me I need to lose weight.

Huh.

Hey ladies. This is my first time posting here. I'm usually a lurker.

Anyway my friend came to me the other day upset about an argument she had with her husband.

She wants to get a tattoo but he doesn't want her to because he doesn't like them. However he has gotten super overweight he doesn't think she gets to have a say in that. He wants her to accept him like that even though he was much tremor when they got married.

She works out healthy. She cooks healthy meals but they go to waste because she is the only one that eats them. He doesn't work out and makes excuses all the time (no time, doesn't like to do it alone etc).

Now I asked her if she was doing this because he won't lose weight... If she's doing this to spite him. She said she is not.

I know she's been wanting to get one for a awhile. And he wasn't always overweight. She said she feels it is unfair and hypocritical of him to expect her to except him like that but tell her no tattoos because he doesn't like them. Lol she said she don't like man boobs but he wants her to like them. Lmao I just can't.

I asked my brother and he sides with my friend. My hubby said he thinks she's wrong.

Ladies what are your thoughts? ??

Last edited:
When I first read it I thought it was very unfair.

But it is so much easier to NOT get a tattoo than it is to lose weight. There are also so many feelings and self-esteem issues tied up in weight.

It does not excuse him letting himself go or discounting her feelings on the matter.

But I could see how someone may not see it as hypocritical because the two issues, while looks-related, IMO are not equal.

That's what I was thinking too. They're not really the same. But both should take into consideration their spouse's feelings.

Last edited: