The Great Egg Debate (hair Version)

charmtreese

I started back using eggs when a few months ago people were claiming that their hair was growing overnight by using eggs and coconut oil. I didn’t really follow the instructions from that experiment other than the use of eggs overnight. But, because I’ve used eggs before and have always hated the consistency and messiness of them I decided to make a hair mayo instead.

I’ve been pre-pooing my hair with a homemade mayo for the past 2-3 months and I really like the results. However, I’ve read that eggs/food proteins are too large to penetrate and therefore are a waste of time.

I’m having a struggle with logic over reason. I understand the logic, that the protein from eggs are not hydrolyzed, hence deemed too big. But on the other hand my hair and scalp seem to be loving this treatment. I mean the results are really impressive.

I have fine hair that is not protein sensitive and I use my mayo overnight before every wash (I wash/shampoo my hair biweekly). I feel like the results last and are not just rinsed out when I shampoo.

I was also wonder if I could make the protein in the eggs hydrolyzed by adding a little warm water to my mayo mix? Since the process (even though more complicated) to hydrolyzed protein consist of water, acid and heat. My hair mayo already consists of ACV (acid), I baggie overnight (heat/steam), eggs contain some water, however, If I add a little warm water to my mayo while making it…maybe that would encourage the proteins to penetrate. ß Not sure if that would work…just thinking out loud.

Is anyone else still using egg in their hair? If so, what are your results and do you find that the protein in eggs benefit your hair.

@charmtreese
Sounds interesting. Nice Post (and Thread).:goodpost:

This may be something I ask the Hand-mades to try to duplicate. :look:..:scratchchin:

I could use a good Egg Rx right about now and I know I ain't 'bout to be whippin' up nothin'.:eek:..:lol: