Standard tip for stylist

nita4

Is there a standard tip that you give a stylist? Like 10%??? Or???

Normally, there is one person that does the hair. Standard price for a relaxer here is $65.00 that includes the conditioner afterwards and a trim if needed.

I think it should be based on how well they do your hair..also how much they are charging..

If your paying 65 for a perm and style then a 2 dollar tip shouldn't work.. at least in my opinion..

I hate going to places where they have 10 people in ur hair..Im only tipping the main person.. if ya'll split the tip then its up to u..
I tend to tip more when I get my hair braided..cause Im in there more and she's standing up so she's getting her moneys worth. I'll tip 10-20 dollars extra depending on what I have on me.

Hi Nita4!
wave.gif

I worked as a receptionist in a salon for a while a few years ago and then one of my roomates went to cosmetology school. I was always told that the standard tip for hairstyling and makeup artist is 15-20%. If more than on perosn works on your head you can pay the main person or each person individually. So if your relaxer is $65 plan to spend between $74.75 to $78.

HTH

Auntybe

I pay $78.50 for my touch-up and trim. 15% of that is $11.78... Sorry, but no way am I tipping that much. Nope. I give the person who put in the relaxer, trims my hair & sets it $5.00 and the shampoo girl gets $2.00. THAT'S IT. I feel they're overcharging for the relaxer as it is!! If I tipped $11.78 that would bring it up to almost $100!!!
nono.gif
I guess I'm a cheapie.

For a wash and set ranging bet. $12-$15. I tip $2or $3.
For a relaxer of $35 I tip $5.
It all depends on the relation bet u and ur hairdresser. I really like mine so sometimes I give tip her a lot b/c I notice that she doesnt charge me for certain services so I compensate with the tip.

wave.gif
Hi Auntybe
wave.gif
Hi ladies, thanks. I was wondering because I was tipping $5 on the $65 service w/my last hairdresser.