SO is away because of deployment

Hey all...

My name is Vanessa and I'm a newbie to this hairboard and I have to say, enjoying my stay. Anywho to the subject

Who in here is a wife or girlfriend..fiance of a military man who is away at deployment. My boyfriend is currently in the army and if currently assigned in Afghanistan for 12 months and its hard. One moment, we're always talking and in constant communication and then within three weeks we can only talk for an hour and every couple of days. I'm blessed because he has an Afgahnistan celluar phone and so we talk more often then another couple but its so hard.

Plus the arguements have been getting worse since he has been becoming more insecure. As you know a lot of wives started explooring other men when their husbands are away and he's constantly asking how does he know he's the lucky one...or their wives leave them during deployment.

It didnt help at all when he was speaking to another soldier about our relationship, a married man told him I guess looking out for him "I hope you know you're in an open relationship" and sadly this is the mentality a lot of men have going into deployment and pass this bad seed around.

How do you deal with someone constant badgering you about something you constantly keep repeating to them it won't happen. Also the distance. How are you ladies coping? What do you do?

p.s (also since i'm new to the board im not quite familiair with the terms used this forum like Dh and so on so forth, be a great help if you guys could clarify for me. thanks a bunch)

Last edited:
My BF is entering the Navy, he already has a degree is planning on entering as an Officer, but I don't look forward to the long separations. We have been together a while so at this point we are considering marriage. I would rather be able to go with him when he is stationed, but he has told me stories of how wives were cheating while their husbands were deployed.