Retaining Growth With Wash And Gos

kimmiecakes

HI Ladies,

After so many failed attempts I have finally perfected the wash and go. I had no idea it was even something that I could wear as a daily CUTE style. I normally use a sew ins to retain growth. I'm slightly past apl and want to get to bra strap and beyond. I'm taking viviscal and don't use heat ever. Do you guys feel that wash and gos allow hair to retain growth? I don't get ssk ( used to) I co wash daily and have I guess a 3c hair type. I trying to decide if I need to get a sew in or if I will be able to retain growth with a wash and go.

Thanks Ladies

I hope so. I'm type 4c/b and I guess i'm experimenting on myself to see if I can retain growth with a wng- it's all I've been wearing for the past two years. My longest layers are APL.

ETA: Came back to say I try to keep manipulation to a minimum so I tend to wear my wng for about 4 days before I refresh or redo. I can go longer but I hate removing neverending shed hair, so I try wash (clay wash or water rinse) at least once a week.

Last edited:
HI Ladies,

After so many failed attempts I have finally perfected the wash and go. I had no idea it was even something that I could wear as a daily CUTE style. I normally use a sew ins to retain growth. I'm slightly past apl and want to get to bra strap and beyond. I'm taking viviscal and don't use heat ever. Do you guys feel that wash and gos allow hair to retain growth? I don't get ssk ( used to) I co wash daily and have I guess a 3c hair type. I trying to decide if I need to get a sew in or if I will be able to retain growth with a wash and go.

Thanks Ladies

Do you mind sharing the details of what you do to achieve your perfected wash and go? Thanks in advance!

I think you can but cowashing daily might be too much manipulation. I'm trying this myself too because I'm lazy lol