***Online Dating Support Thread***

JollyGal

Hello ladies,

:user:

Welcome to the Online Dating Support Thread!!!

This thread is open to all who want to start dating men online, are currently doing so and for those who have advice/stories to share (good or bad).

I am no expert but I hope this thread can provide support to those who want to start online dating or are currently doing it.

Feel free to post your questions and share your stories here.

Enjoy

I'll start with a question;
Has anyone had any success with using The Rules for Online Dating?
How long is too long when exchanging emails with an online potential?

Ten Essential Online Dating Safety Tips

1. Trust Your Gut Instinct
Your instinct is a powerful medium for knowing when something doesn't feel right. It is also a great way to measure when to move forward with someone and when to turn and run. As you read profiles, responses to emails, have phone conversations, and meet in person your instincts help tell you if something is "right" or if something is out of alignment. The "out of alignment" message is your cue to be careful, back off, or proceed with extreme caution. Trust your gut instinct, it's the most powerful psychological tool you have at your disposal.

2. Don't Provide Personal Information Too Soon
Your home phone number and full name provide easy ways to track who you are and where you live. Armed with just your home phone number, a person can easily gain access to your income information, home address, and even learn the value of your home. Armed with your first and last name, a person can do searches to determine quite a bit of information on you - where you work, what you do, and even what your home phone number is. So in the initial stages of communication, guard your personal information. As far as phone communication, see the next tip.

3. Use a Free Email Account