(Newbie) my hair pictures!!!

dominicana

Hi everyone!!

I posted some pictures for everyone to see. Mostly I need help with figuring out my hair type and any suggestions you guys have on moisturizing it. My hair is all natural, (last relaxer in march 2001), water beads up and rolls off it, it looks dry even though it's actually wet. You'll see what I mean when you look at the pictures. I hope this link works.

http://www.PictureTrail.com/gid2683416

Thanks!!!!
Diana

welcome1.gif

Hi, and welcome to the board. I'm not good with the Hair type thing, I still can't figure out mine. But your hair looks very pretty...

What do you wash with?

Nice hair!
clap.gif
Big welcome to you!

You know, your wet hair does remind me of the hair of the lady of the Crown and Glory Technique. Someone once pointed out that hers looked dry (and unhealthy?) but I thought perhaps it was because it wasn't a deep dark color which might reflect light better and also because it wasn't straightened which also would give it more reflective properties. Seeing your hair after a press and then seeing it when wet makes me now sort of confirm that the hair of that lady of Crown and Glory may have appeared dry coz it didn't have any moisturizer in it. Plus relaxed hair does tend to be dryer.

I have seen water sit on top of Type 4 hair afro like you describe but your hair looks so straight...
confused.gif
Do you press your hair often? I know a lady who had long hair and who got it set with a curling iron at the salon all the time such that her hair behaved liked permed hair and didn't curl up tight like it used to. (The italicized part of that statement being her own testimony, since I didn't know her when she had it coily.)

So your hair type? Uhmmm...
scratchchin.gif
Although your hair is somewhat different from what I think 4A is like (I think 4A has S curls but not as tight or Z-shaped as 4B), I think I would put you in that category since A's have looser curls/waves than B's.
dork.gif