Loaning Money to an Ex?

Victory1

OK ladies, I need advice. I'm back in contact with my college boyfriend. He was my 1st love and I also my 1st lover. I have not seen him or talk to him since I graduated in 1999 (we broke up in 1997 a few months before his graduation). We recently reconnected about 3 months ago. I now live in Atlanta, GA and he lives in Charlotte, NC. We are both from Florida and met at University of Florida. We have been talking on the phone for hours but have yet to meet in person. Yesterday, he threw for a loop when he suddenly asked me to borrow some money.:sad: I was very uncomfortable but agreed to wire him the money today. I decided to talk it over with my best friend, who told me that I should have said no. I'm having 2nd thought and just want to call him to tell him that I changed my mind. I know, we had a personal relationship over 14 years ago but I have not seen him for almost 12 years. We are able to have personal conversations since we were in an intimate relationship for almost 2 years. I can't even picture myself asking him for money at this point of our relationship. Yes, back then, when we were broke college kids, I gave him money but now the man is 35 years old.
I need to hear from people who are not personally involve. What would you do?

It's never a good idea to "loan" anyone money. 9 times out of 10 you will never see it again so if you can't afford to lose it, don't give it. No comment on the rest.

No, unless you never want to see that money again.

There's a reason he has to reach so far across all the people he's dealt with for the last 12 years & the people in his local area & the men he knows (asking a woman for money is a no no) to ask YOU for money.

If you change your mind and your answer is no, it has to be a firm no because it's likely that he will attempt to turn it into a long drawn out conversation about his needs and how he will pay you back.