I need some advice y'all.... (LONG)

glamazon386

ETA: Sorry this is so long but I needed to vent... You can skip to the last 3 paragraphs if need be.

Well my childhood friend just pretty much professed his love for me. And now I really don't know what to do...

I'll give y'all some background.... We used to talk when I was a sophomore in college. Very briefly. I bumped into him in the mall once with my mom and he was pretty much in shock and stuttering the first time. This was right after we graduated high school (I didn't go to middle or high school with him. I was bussed to schools outside our neighborhood. We never really talked like that other than seeing each other in passing. I knew he lived 2 streets over from me but I didn't know what house.). The second time I was in the mall again (I was there with my HS sweetheart but he was in another store. We weren't dating then.) and we exchanged numbers. We kept in contact after that. We went on a few dates. He told me he always liked me but I was too far up my high school sweetheart's butt at the time and in school an hour away. He ended up meeting this girl and they got together. A few months later I ended up getting with my HS sweetheart for good. We broke up a year later but still dated off and on up until maybe a year and a half ago.