How much do you or should you tip your stylist?

SoforReal

I always give her 20% of the total cost of the service given. And I give the shampoo girl $2-$5

Do you ladies give your stylist a set percentage or whatever you feel like? Please be honest!!!

I would also like to know the anwser to this. And what about stylist that overcharge or are very very expensive. I mean, if I pay $100 for a cut (which I know some ladies are paying) I have to tip $20? IDK. I definitely believe in tipping...especially for good work but...I am a college student and not trying to go broke.

I would also like to know the anwser to this. And what about stylist that overcharge or are very very expensive. I mean, if I pay $100 for a cut (which I know some ladies are paying) I have to tip $20? IDK. I definitely believe in tipping...especially for good work but...I am a college student and not trying to go broke.

Okay I take that back..lol. I'm not paying no dang 20% on a $100 service. Maybe then it would depend on how good of a job she did. I'm not trying to go broke either. Let me clarify...I meant 20% on services that cost less than $45.

Sometimes i will give a little more like if she does something extra(without me saying anything:yep:) or she just take her time to massage my scalp(even put a little oil if dry). Well it costs $15 for a wash n set so i would give her 3 or if she does something extra 5. I like that she doesn't pressure you to tip or feel like YOU have to tip her. I would do 20% or the most 30% also depending on the price and the service.

Last edited:
Generally I tip mine $5 regardless to what I get. Thank goodness she shampoos herself or that would be another tip. (I'm cheap.):saythat:

I always tip between $2-$5. (That goes for the pizza delivery guy, as well.) If the stylist did a very good job $5, other than that, it's $2. If the stylists is late or rude they get NADA!