Before LHCF and your regimen....

Denim And Leather

....what was your hair routine like before all this? And when did you decide to start a hair care regimen?

I got my hair relaxed when I was in 5th grade. My mother never took good care of our hair, I guess she figured you just put the relaxer in and it stays straight! So of course, mine and my sisters' hair broke off. In high school, I started seeing a hairdresser regularly, and my hair grew just above my shoulders. But I lapsed in that, and my hair started breaking off again. A year after I graduated high school, I started wearing a sew in weave, and did so for the next 16 years. About two years ago, I got tired of it, I felt very phony (not to put women down who wear them, as I understand that some women on this board wear weaves as a protective style. I wore hair extensions continually for 16 years, so that is why I felt like a phony.) I wanted to love and appreciate the hair God gave me, and really desired wearing my own hair. After a lot of thought, I had the weave taken out, and started wearing my own hair, by now it was just a little past the shoulders. I got my hair relaxed every six weeks, which included a blow dry and straightened from the marcel stove. In between touch-ups, I would wash and condition my hair once a week, and blow dry and flat iron it. My hair grew, but not as long as I figured, since in my opinion, I was taking better care of my hair (yeah, right!)

Earlier this year, I started wondering why my hair never grew longer like it should have, and thought maybe it was something my hairdresser was doing. One day, quite by accident, I came across the UBH website, and that opened my eyes. I ordered Cathy Howse's book and products and got to work on making my hair better. A few days after getting Cathy's products, I ended up on this board, and my eyes were opened even more!