Which relaxes hair straighter: ORS Olive oil LYE or NO LYE?

SleekandBouncy

It's amazing what you learn about your hair when you air dry and then analyze your hair for an hour with a home made 3 way mirror while cotched on the side of a sink :look:
I realize, A; my hair used to be relaxed bone straight (back when I used Precise/Mizani), but the most recent 4" of my hair has an interesting kinky/straight texture that I attribute to the ORS No lye I've been using for the last 6 months. I'm curious how the lye relaxer compares. I'm not sure how I'm liking this new texture.

I've noticed this same texture with ORS Olive oil no lye with my hair I've also noticed on some of the heads (those who use the ORS no lye) here on the board in their photos.

I would like to know the answer to this as well.

I am thinking of trying the lye for my next touch in Sept/Oct. I'm a little nervous about it since my hair is fine and I haven't used lye in years. Although, if I do try it I'm going to use Serenity_Breeze's (I think it was her) method of adding EVOO and Almond Oil to the relaxer.

Last edited:
I used ORS Lye Regular at my last touchup and was very pleased! My hair was nice and straight! (I do relax my hair in sections, and that goes a long way to getting it really straight because I can spend 15-20 mintues per section which gives a lot of time for smoothing, as opposed to 15-20 minutes for the whole head). I plan to use it again at my next touch up. I never used ORS No-lye so I can't compare. I think I prefer lye for my hair and plan to begin slowly cutting off my no-lye ends starting with this next relaxer.

I had the same problem with ORS no-lye. That's why I stopped using it. I used Hawaiian Silky Lye (regular strength) for my last touch-up and my hair came out pretty straight. I didn't know ORS has a lye formula. I'm gonna have to try it.