Washing hair promotes growth?

sweetdaises2000

Does washing hair promote hair growth? I've heard it does but how exactly does taht occur? I wash my hair every 2 weeks or so is that not enough? I just want my facts straight.Thanks a lot! /images/graemlins/smile.gif <font color="blue"> </font>

I dont know if it promotes actual 'growth' but I can say that with my hair it keeps it moisturized therefore allowing my hair to retain the length and not break as much.

I say to try washing more frequently and see how your hair responds to it.

well im no expert but im assuming it has been said that washing ur hair alot promotes hair growth is cuz u r keeping the scalp clean. and if u keep the scalp clean u r allowing the hair to come through the scalp with no resistance such as grease or dirt or whatever. But if u wash ur hair a lot and dont condition properly ur hair is sure to break so no length is gained. but from this board i c taking vitamins and eating healthier especially drnking a lot of water has made a lot of the women here hair groooow.

My .03 cents.....

I think that it is the events and affects associated with washing that MAY promote growth. I mean the removal of sebum and dirt that may be clogging pores and inhibiting growth. Also, if one massages the scalp while "washing", it benefits the follicles, which would help with growth.

This would mean that it doesn't matter HOW one "washes", as long as the affect is the same. I only wash with shampoo when it's time to retouch, so my hair will only see shampoo approx. 4 times per year. However, my hair and scalp are still clean and my hair IS growing. I just need to stop cutting it! /images/graemlins/smile.gif