The Advantages of a Dominican Hair Salon...

Alpha Female

Because I'm fairly new to the LHCF family, and really just starting my 'healthy hair' journey, this is a legitimate question to increase my own knowledge and understanding. I see many mentions to Dominican hair salons. What exactly do Dominican hair salons offer/do that makes them so great? Is it the products they use? Is it the approach they take towards hair in general? Can they truly handle a variety of textures - natural, relaxed, texlaxed, etc.? And last, but not least, does anyone know of a good Dominican hair salon in Houston, Tx? Thanks, Ladies!

Because I'm fairly new to the LHCF family, and really just starting my 'healthy hair' journey, this is a legitimate question to increase my own knowledge and understanding. I see many mentions to Dominican hair salons. What exactly do Dominican hair salons offer/do that makes them so great? Is it the products they use? Is it the approach they take towards hair in general? Can they truly handle a variety of textures - natural, relaxed, texlaxed, etc.? And last, but not least, does anyone know of a good Dominican hair salon in Houston, Tx? Thanks, Ladies!

In NYC, there's a Dominican hair salon on every other block. Generally speaking, they do hair extremely well. I can honestly say that I will let almost any Dominican stylist trim my ends. One of the Dominican salons that I go to uses an array of products: Salerm, Mizani, Affirm... I think that I saw a Silicon Mix shampoo bottle in there, lol.

I think the well deserved hype surrounding Dominican stylists exists because of the good experiences people have had with them. That's not to say that they can do no wrong, though.

In NYC, Dominican salons can be relatively inexpensive. I can payany where from $10 to $20 for a wash and (roller) set. I suspect that it may be a bit more pricey in TX.

I hope you find a good place!

Hello, this is my first post, I've been a lurker off and on for YEARS..