Testimony from a Newbie...

KeishaT

:newbie:Hello to all and Happy Holidays!!

I'm new to the LHCF but as most newbies say, I've been lurking around for quite a while. I decided to join because the more threads I read the more I learn and being a lurker, you can't post the questions you want to ask so I had to join.

I am currently an all natural 4b with a hair length of probably about to the middle of my ear. Now, mind you as a former relaxer with shoulder length hair, having such short-hair was quite uncomfortable but i have managed. Im hoping to share my story with everyone on this board because I feel you all can really understand my trials. I testify.......

October 2004..
I began having family issues at home and things didn't seem to let up. There was no one I could talk to and therefore I would hold all my emotions in. Never a good idea. Eventually, I began to pick at the middle of my hair, not really sure why but just did. Soon I grew a patch in the middle of my head. I knew this came from all my stress building up but there was nothing I could do. At the time of this I was a SL Relaxer and didn't dream to get my hair cut, but if I knew then what I know now, I definitely would have went for the big chop. So I continuously relaxed my hair every month, sometimes changing relaxers. I continued this hair abuse for the next 3 1/2 years. My patch would sometimes grow back a little but once I got the relaxer again, it would fall right back out. I just couldn't see myself with short hair and transitioning was really pissing me off. ( please excuse my language :o) Eventually my godmother came to the rescue.

January 2008......
One random day, I asked my godmother if she could do my hair for me. She agreed and while she was doing it she decided to cut the back of my hair off because i eventually stared growing patches in the back of my head also. So for about 3 1/2 months I was rocking the T-boz look, my hair still relaxed.

May 2008....