Spinoff: Tipping your Hairstylist

balisi

For those who don't tip your hairstylist, why don't you tip? $5 seems to be the majic number for those who do tip, but what is that based on?

I always try to tip my hairstylist. $5-$10 is about the most I can do for a tip right now since I am a student without a job. Sometimes I want to give more but just can't afford to right now. I always tip though, I just give what I can.

Like I said on the other thread, I don't tip because their income is not dependent on tips like waitresses/waiters. The only time I've tipped is when they go out of their way to accomodate me.

Keen said:
Like I said on the other thread, I don't tip because their income is not dependent on tips like waitresses/waiters. The only time I've tipped is when they go out of their way to accomodate me.
It depends on how the stylist is compensated. Those on commission don't make much money without tips, especially in chain salons with low prices. Also, wait staff don't have to attend school to enter that profession, as opposed to licensed stylists who must either apprentice or enroll in a cosmetology program.

Keen said:

So you do you tip when you mani/pedis, spa services, car valet, etc? They are in the service industry, so providing tips is part of their income..

I'll be honest, when I used to get my hair done, I never tipped my stylists...however, I haven't had my hair done professionally since I was about 16, so I wasn't really in a tipping position.

Once I start going to the salon (maybe occasionally in the next year or so once we have more money) I'll probably tip something b/c my mother always has and she told me I should to.

i think it's supposed to be something along the lines of 10-15%. i dont go to the salon but thats what i would do its wither less or the same as a waiter/tress which is 15-20% i think :confused: