Some people just don't understand or can't be supportive

CutiePie0Five

Hi everyone,

Well, I've been transitioning for 5 months now, and I've told some people about it (namely my sister, and some friends), but I haven't fully come out to my parents. I mentioned wanting to go natural a few years ago, but everyone basically talked me out of it.

Anyway, so my parents asked me today what I plan on doing with my hair, so instead of dodging the question like I've been doing, I told them I was staying away from the perms for a while. Then, of course my mom chimes in that I need to do something with my hair because its breaking and blah blah blah. However, in fact, my hair is much healthier than it was at the beginning of this year when I decided to start transitioning. My only problem with my hair, that I could see her talking about is that the back is shorter than the front---it used to be the other way around. I think that happened because I got a little scissor happy clipping ends earlier this year.

I'm pretty secure in my decision to transition and my only problem is the lack of support from my parents. My mom ALWAYS has negative things to say about my hair, even though its always been longer and healthier than hers, because she does everything wrong with her hair that she possibly could (blowing drying, combing & brushing really hard, sleeping without a scarf, etc.). Even when I used to come home from the hairdresser looking nice, she'd never have anything good to say. I don't know what it is with her.