Reconsidering blowdriers and curling irons!

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date
G

Everybody remember me? LOL. I remember in the past I accredited my healthy hair to not using curling irons and blowdriers. /images/graemlins/smile.gif, Hmmmmm, I'm actually EATING MY WORDS right now. I am still against extreme heat on the hair, and I think that used incorrectly, I still believe that curling irons and blowdriers CAN be bad for the hair (just like a hot hood dryer can be bad for the hair too!). But they also CAN be okay if used properly. I've been using curling irons and blowdriers since 11/2002 and my hair has never felt better, looked better, behaved better! Less hair is coming out when I detangle my wet hair and it's very bouncy and full looking! Here are my tips for using curling irons and blowdriers properly :

#1 You cannot use a blowdryer or curling iron everyday, or even every other day. They must be used sparingly. I use them once a week, or at the very very very most, 2x a week.

# You can't use these devices on their highest setting. Use them on as low a setting as possible. You should never see steam or smoke rising from your hair, nor should you ever smell your hair burning!!!

#3 Don't dry your hair until it's totally dry or totally straight. I think that's what causes some of the damage. I get my hair 90% dry and let it finish air drying. It won't be straight, it'll actually be kinda fluffy and full when it dries, but the curling iron acts like a pressing comb and smooths it out really well.

#4 Use some type of lubrication, some oil or hair polisher so you are buffering the effect of the iron. I like to use this Tea tree hair dress by ORS. It's lite and wonderful, and it smells really clean. And it's also very moisturizing.