Question about Biotin....sorry to be redundant...

Savgal

As a person clueless to all this Biotin stuff, I have some questions that may seem stupid, but bear with me.

Could someone please tell me exactly what 5 mg's looks like? Is it one pill, is it 3 pills? I don't get it. Secondly, is taking this 5 mg's by itself enough to speed up hair growth, or do you have to take a ton of other things with it to see any kind of results. Finally, how much does this stuff cost on a monthly budget and where do you buy it from? I'm a poor student, so I have to be economical.

puritans pride is having a 3 for 1 sale about $7 I think. 5000 mcgs is 5mgs
smile.gif

5mg is 5 pills all 1mg each, they are quite and very easy to swallow as they are coated. A lot of the ladies on here take 5mg a day, and see great results on that alone. As icandey has posted you can get a good deal at puritans pride. They as well as freedmans seem to the best source for Biotin out there.

Savgal,

It depends on the pill and brand. For example, GNC sells a biotin pill that each contains 2.5mg. Therefore, you would need to take 2 to get the 5mg. Whereas, Puritan Pride sells its biotin pills in 1mg dosages. So you would need to take 5 of them to get the 5mg.

IMO, taking a ton of other vitamins may not be necessary if you eat well and exercise regulary. A good multivitamin and b-complex along with biotin may be all you need.

In terms of costs, I would GUESS $30 covers the vitamins described above.

HTH
Elliot

Also, I will try to bump Bargello's Vitamin Recs for Growth

Hi Savgal!,

Okay, I'm gonna answer your questions to the best of my abilites:

1. What does 5 mg's look like? Well, it depends on the mcgs. For instance, right now I'm taking biotin from GNC. It has only 600 mcg's so I have to take seven to get close to 5000 mcg's. Some ladies on this board use a brand called Puritans Pride. They have different potencies. Some have 1000 mcg's, they have one that's 5000 mcg's. 5000 mcg's= 5mg's.