Naturals when do you retain the most lenght?

jtsupanova

Shrunken fro or protective styles?

I wanted to use a poll but I don't know how to set it up
For me its protective styles like twist but I never really considered wearing my hair out in its shrunken state(on the regular) once it got a certain lenght

Im new to this whole natural thing....but I would assert that you would retain more length in a protective style. The couple of times that I have worn my hair in a shruken fro it dried out very quickly and I had to reapply products and it was more tangled:nono: ....neither of which are very conduscive to retaining length...

yeah
shrunk=tangles for me too but there are some naturals who wear shake n go's everyday and get alot of growth

Last edited:
I wear shake and gos, and I think I retain the same amount of length I would wearing protective styles. However, I've discovered that if I don't detangle at least once a week while wearing a shake and go, my hair tangles and suffers.

i usually wash and go and I still retain length. As for the tangles - I dont have them very often...not sure why? I only detangle under running water - otherwise I fingercomb- maybe that helpskeep the tangles at bay??? Toodlez!

Cheleigh said:
I wear shake and gos, and I think I retain the same amount of length I would wearing protective styles. However, I've discovered that if I don't detangle at least once a week while wearing a shake and go, my hair tangles and suffers.
Same here! No difference for my hair.

jtsupanova said:
yeah
shrunk=tangles for me too but there are some naturals how wear shake n go's everyday and get alot of growth
So true! Check out BlackCardinal... her hair grows crazy from wearing it shrunken 24/7! I don't think she's ever done a protective style.

Poohbear said:
Same here! No difference for my hair.

So true! Check out BlackCardinal... her hair grows crazy from wearing it shrunken 24/7! I don't think she's ever done a protective style.