My stylist told me to ____ and she was DEAD wrong!

rainbowknots

I just want to know how many ladies have been given bad advice from their stylist and what the consequences were. My experience is, I had one lady who used to perm my hair and she used to tell me that I shouldn't put anything in my hair at all (except oil sheen). My consequence was extremely dry and brittle hair for a VERY long time! :wallbash: Well since I've joined this site, I've learned that my hair NEEDS products period. So, how many other ladies have taken the advice of a stylist, has ended up with horrible results, and had to get turned around by the LHCF?

1.What advice were you given?
2.What were the results?
3.How did you turn your hair around?

P.S. I'm kind of using this to get better advice for my hair care since I'm still a newbie!

Well this isn't exactly something they've said, but something they all seem to do. Leaving relaxers in to the point of burning.:nono:

I just self relaxed last week for the first time in years. I used Phyto II and added olive oil. I left it on about 18 min (which was longer than I wanted, but I'm new at this), and it never burned:grin:. Washed it out and still had texture to my hair. Just loosened the kinks. It was great! Can't wait till my whole head is texlaxed, and hate how most stylists insist on leaving relaxers in un-Godly amounts of time for them to "take".

stylist always put a dime size of moisturizing 'whatever' in my hair...this wasn't a recommendation, but I though it was all I needed...which resulted in see-through hair...

About 20 years ago, this guy gave me a beautiful new haircut and a fresh relaxer, he told me to maintain the style by spraying with oil sheen and curling with a curling iron every morning!:rolleyes:

come in and see me every two weeks so we can "trim" your ends. and make sure you grease your scalp 1x a week so your hair grows :lachen:

....and dont was your hair every week, thats for white folk :(, once a month is suffice!