Meeting bf's mother for the first time

MochaMooch

So my boyfriend's mother is moving from Ireland to England this Sunday and he wants me to pick her up from London and drive her to her new home several miles away. My boyfriend will be at work and he doesn't drive so that's why he has asked me to pick her up. He said his mum is really excited to meet me but I’m completely freaking out.

Firstly I’m a nervous driver and the thought of driving into London terrifies me. Secondly, I’ve never met his mother or even spoken to her and I feel uncomfortable about meeting her without my boyfriend there. Plus it’s going to be a long drive so I’m really nervous about sustaining conversation with her.

I'm so nervous about the whole thing! I was just wondering if anyone has any advice. Has anyone had to meet their boyfriend’s parents alone? Should I bring her a gift? What should I wear?

Find out what kinda music she likes and bring snacks! Just relax! I'm a nervous driver too so I feel you on that. You must relax and take it one step at a time. I didn't want to meet my moms bf at all but we talked for 4 hours straight! Don't talk abt politics or religious stuff unless you are for sure u share the same views...Mothers can talk about their kids for days so ask abt how bf was as a child....that should be fun for both of u!

I personally think that he is asking a bit much of you. Whether he drives or not I think it is his responsibility to figure that out. At minimum he should be with you guys if you drove. At maximum he should be handling the whole thing himself IMO (hire a driver, etc.)

Um just throwig you in the middle of this mess is mad rude.

how can he have you meet her for the first time ever and not be there?

I dont know. I find the whole situation really ridiculous