Ladies that self-relax, Where do you buy your relaxer?

MissMusic

I want to get into self relaxing. I've been diligently practicing with conditioner, and doinig lots of research. I was wondering where you buy your relaxers? (as most beauty supply stores require a liscence to buy chemical product)s. Also, what relaxer do you use? Thx lots!:grin:

Last edited:
I want to get into self relaxing. I've been diligently practicing with conditioner, and doinig lots of research. I was wondering where you buy your relaxers? (as most beauty supply stores require a liscence to buy chemical product)s. Also, what relaxer do you use? Thx lots!:grin:

?? Huh ??

I've been buying relaxer for 20 years and I've NEVER not been able to walk into ANY beauty supply store and buy relaxer.

Wow, guess I've been misinformed!

You don't need a license. A long time ago at Sally Beauty, there were some products that you supposedly needed a beauticians card to purchase but that seemed to only apply to "Professional" grade products. There are manyyyyyyyy at home self-relax kits available. Sally, BSS, Walmart, CVS, etc. No license required. :grin:

P. S. I use Optimum Regular No-Lye No Breakage Formula.

I get relaxers from Sally's, Walgreens, Wal-Mart and CVS. I've never stuck with one brand, I like trying new things

I buy my Mizani Butterblend online from payne's beauty supply. I've gotten silk elements and motions from Sally's and ORS lye and Affirm from local BSS. The Affrim I bought was from a BSS that had a salon in the back. Other box relaxers I've bought from Walmart or Walgreens.

I use the Optimum Relaxer and I have been for years. I learned from Cathy Howse that switching relaxers was bad for you hair. But I buy my from Walgreens usually.

?? Huh ??

I've been buying relaxer for 20 years and I've NEVER not been able to walk into ANY beauty supply store and buy relaxer.