Is getting your hair thinned a good idea?

<font color="purple"> </font> heyy..my hair is either a type 2B or 2C about an inch or two past my bra strap and extremely thick. since summers commin` up i was wondering if anyone thought that it would be a good idea to get it thinned. like everyone else i've had some pretty bad hair experiences in the past so i figured i'd talk this one over first
wink.gif
thanks! *

Welcome to the boards lilcountryblonde
wave.gif

Question--what does "thinning" your hair mean? Do you mean relaxing it?

im not sure exactally how the hairdresser does it but they basically just cut some short layers into the underneath section of your hair to give it a thinner look without putting any harsh chemicals on it. think it sounds like a good idea?
look.gif

Find out EXACTLY what the procedure is BEFORE you allow them to do ANYTHING to your hair!!! Ask questions until you are 100% comfortable with what they plan to do. Right now, you sound as if you aren't sure what they will be doing. For THIS very reason, you do NOT need to do this right now. Please find out more information.

thanks patience, it seems like everyone else knows as little about this procedure as i do! if you find out anything about it please let me know!

[ QUOTE ]
lilcountryblonde said:
thanks patience, it seems like everyone else knows as little about this procedure as i do! if you find out anything about it please let me know!

[/ QUOTE ]

No problem. Hmm, sounds like that's motivation to NOT have this procedure done. Plenty of folks would LOVE to have thick hair. Why do you want to thin yours out? It's going to thin as you get older anyway...why rush the process?