Is anyone just starting their transition?

Trini_Chutney

Peeing in my shower
Hi all! I've been browsing the boards for awhile but just recently joined. I have decided to transition from relaxed to natural. Today I purchased a pound of shea from nasabb, and 2 juicy shampoo bars from KBB. My hair is chin length at this time, I'm growing out from a short cut from last summer. I don't know what my hair type is so I'm interested to see what my natural texture will be like. I plan on doing a long term transition and would really love to have a few transition buddies if anyone is interested. I have a sew in weave right now that I plan to take out in about a month and then I'll try the low manipulation styles. :spinning:
I'm looking forward to embracing my natural hair!!

Welcome I am new to and transitioning. Well I am 3 months into my transition, but still it is new. Funny I want to do my weaves/half wigs starting September, so for now I am/have been doing low manipulation. You should come over to this thread http://www.longhaircareforum.com/showthread.php?t=312457&highlight=
So many helpful tips, I am trying to read the whole thread now which will take me at least a week I am sure but hey with transitioning I have nothing but time right?

Been on the board 1 year this month but just decided to transition last week. I'm texlaxed with full shoulder length hair. I plan to transition for 1.5-2 years and slowly trim along the way. I will be wearing buns & twist outs mostly. I airdry mostly and only use heat a few times a year.

Congrats to you ladies for making the decision to transition! You can do this. I think first you have to make a mental transition, and then the rest is easy! Good luck!

I'm reluctantly transitioning.
My last relaxer was in May right before my wedding.
Now that I'm pregnant I don't think I want to color or relax my hair.
Plus it's been a dream of mine to finally SEE my natural texture.