I have no idea what I'm doing...

Shalilac

I have been transitioning for almost 9 months with no problems really. I pretty much wear my hair in a bun everyday. I don't have time to do the cute styles anymore like twist-outs and braid-outs or even roller sets. I have 8 mth old twins and a 3 yr old. They keep me very busy and I don't really get alot of time to do sets (after washing & detangling, I'm lucky if I have time to do anything!) Am I fooling myself into thinking I'll have time to take care of my natural hair once transitioning is over. The twins are getting more challenging as they start crawling and everything. If I don't have time now to do these styles, what makes me think I'm gonna have time when those lil trolls can move as fast as their brother!!! LOL I guess I'm just ranting... :(

Hi Shalilac,

I am relaxed so I don't have much advice. Just some encouragement. I was transitioning once and quickly relaxed after my daughter was born because I had already had an 18month old at home. I regret relaxing cause now I could have had a whole year and 3 months worth of new growth if I had stuck with it. I have actually had more time to work on my hair now that they are both a year older and a little more independent. Hang in there with your transition cause they may give you more time when they are a little older. hth
lisa:cool:

I feel your pain. Well, really the "only" time you have is at night after the kids go to bed, right? You're bone tired at that point, I know, but that may be the time you have to do your hair. Maybe you should look at your routine and pair it down. For example, I only wash my hair once a week. It's a long routine on that day (because I condition twice for about 2 hours), but it's one day. The rest of the week I spritz it, moisturize it and braid and roll it at night. That takes 15 minutes if I'm slow. In the morning, I style it. That takes 10 minutes--20 if I'm trying sometime new.