Good things Gone Bad - the official WARNING thread

crazydaze911

We learn alot here on the board, but i figure we need a warning thread b/c seemingly good things or good advice can go OH SO WRONG. so i figured we could put examples here of good things gone bad.

i will start

1. I've been bunning for 10 years. why is my hair not floor length? b/c for about 8 or 9 of those 10 years i was bunning too tight and in the same spot so i had breakage around the bun area. when i went to the salon, the beautician could tell right away 'you bun alot, dont u?'

2. Rosemary oil. i read alot that this was good for hair growth and 'natural' so i went to a health food store and purchased some. i would put it on my scalp each night. i didnt know you had to DILUTE IT. i had severe burning on my scalp as bad as fresh relaxer - it was HORRIBLE.

3. Jojoba oil - not as bad as the rosemary experience but i heard my hair needed it so i DRENCHED my hair in it for like 6 months. i would wash and condition my hair at the salon and after the rollers and blowdry, it was still a greasy mess - YUCK - what was i thinking?

Controversial...

4. Trimming - i do think its a 'good thing' but it really really depends on the persons hair. i listened to all that 'trim with every relaxer advice' which im sure would keep my hair neat BUT i obtained NO growth this way. works for some, but for me i was stuck at the same length for years b/c each 'trim' would set me back to the last length whether i did them myself or at a salon (slow grower here).

5. I'm still not sure if growth aid shedding is ok - i have ALOT -but i guess i'll find out by experience - wish me luck.

Self relaxing -

It can be great - BUT SO BAD!

Overprocessing is so easy to do. Also underprocessing some parts can lead to frustration over time - and breakage.

I would suggest relaxing in two parts of you are not fast enough. Or using a milder relaxer that allows more time.

Thanks for the post. I guess I have a story...