Ever dated a depressed man?

BGT

Some background: SO and I have been together for 1 year, 4 months. He's 20 and I'm 23. I graduated this May with a business degree and work full time. He starts community college in January (maybe) and works at Target. I make a lot more money but I have more expenses (car, insurance, student loans, credit cards). I live with my brother and aunt. He lives at home with his parents. That doesn't bother me because I didn't live on my own until I was 22 although I came back after my mom passed away last month. He's my first and only everything (even first kiss).

SO hasn't been diagnosed with depression, but I suffered with it for a long time and know some of the symptoms. He always says that "I'm too good for him, and why did I choose him, I could have chosen someone better. Why don't I just break up with him and find a better guy? He's such a bad boyfriend. Why do you put up with me?" He's almost convinced me that he's rotten. I love him very much, but when he gets to talking like that, I question our relationship. I can't even respond to his questions because sometimes I agree with him. He's just 20; I can't expect him to be rolling in dough, but I don't think it's too much to ask to be able to go out to eat every once in a while. He says I make him feel bad when he can't afford things but even free things (like my office's Christmas party) he won't do.

I also sometimes question our long term compatibility. I can be very soft spoken and not fight back (because of how I was raised), but he grew up in a yelling, screaming household, so even when he raises his voice a bit, I feel attacked, even if that was not his intention.

I don't know. I don't want to break up with him because I love him very much and he loves me very much. I want to patient with him while he continues to grow because I'm still young too. I guess I just want to know how to support him at this time.