Do you think there is a really difference?

NewYorkgyrl

I have a friend that is in Law School. She says that she wants to go natural but that it would not be a smart thing for her to do #1 because she will have to go on interviews and #2 that in the career it is not really accepted.

She says that there are girls in her school that are natural, but that they wear their hair straight 100% of the time. (And we all know how I feel about ME and straightening MY hair)

Anyway as most of you guys know I am a medical school student. So she tells me that it is ok for me to be natural because I am going to be a doctor and being a doctor with natural hair is not looked down upon.

Is there really a difference between the 2 professions when it comes to natural hair? Will one profession get more heat/bad remarks/have more issues than the other?

What would be your first impression if you met with your lawyer and they were natural? What would be your first impression of your doctor if she was natural?

***When I say natural I do not mean hair that is pressed/flat ironed etc... I am talking about twist out, twists, buns, low pony puffs, etc....... (non heat requiring hair styles)

Also which natural hair styles do you feel are inappropriate for me to wear on my clincial rotations starting in July. Which are inapproproate for my residency interviews in a couple years? And which hair styles are inappropriate to wear once I am a doctor and working in the hospital.

(Sorry for all the questions but I think they will cover all the bases)
Thanks ladies in advance!!!!!!!!!!!!! :kiss:

Last edited:
I really dunno for sure but I am guessing- I wouldn't wear styles that draw too much attention to me like huge fros etc. on interviews. But once you get in, feel free to do what you want-as long as it's neat and professional to you.