Do Heat Protectants Really Work?

vtoodler

Do you think heat protectants really help protect your hair from heat? Or are they just another way to take your money?

Feel free to share your personal experiences.

In my opinion, yes, - but only to a certain degree. Prior to using them I used heat weekly and stayed at a little below SL. After using them (and this is before finding LHCF and DCing) I was able to retain more length and made it to APL. Then after finding LHCF and DCing I was able to get to MBL when using them. However, I have always noticed a split or two here and there so they cannot guarantee no damage. I noticed the splits the most when I was flat ironing on higher heat though, so I guess they work to an extent. But of course, they should be used in conjunction with healthy hair practices.

Yes. I use Silk Elements brand. I have never used one before until recently. I immediately felt a difference in my hair. It blow dried straighter in half the time. My new growth easily straightened while I was blowdrying. It was awesome. I had a great time flat ironing too.

I will never be without them now.

they work I like john friedas, but most of my leave ins have some sort of heat protectant in them. I notice my hair is does not fry as it would if I weren't using heat protectants. the heat protectants coat the hair with a protective layer/film.

Yes. I use Silk Elements brand. I have never used one before until recently. I immediately felt a difference in my hair. It blow dried straighter in half the time. My new growth easily straightened while I was blowdrying. It was awesome. I had a great time flat ironing too.

I will never be without them now.

I agree.
I use the sally's generic version of chi's silk infusion and I love it-when I blow dry and flat iron-what a huge difference and I noticed my hair is way more healthier than it would have been if I was not using a heat protectant.