Battling dry hair without weighing it down?

NaiyaAi

I'm relatively new to my HHJ, and when I first started, I was moisturizing with Motion's Anti-Breakage Hair Lotion. I believe it's part of their CPR line. It worked perfectly at first, but a few weeks ago, my hair started to look/feel/act weird. I finally figured out that it was the moisturizer causing my hair to act weird, so I switched to something not aimed at breakage. Right now I'm using Neutrogena Triple Moisture leave-in to moisturize, but I think it's too light, in the sense that I normally moisturize at night before bed, and by late afternoon the next day, my hair is feeling sort of dry. Can anyone recommend something a little heavier that'll keep my hair moisturized all day without leaving it feeling weighed down? I wear it out once or twice a week and I just hate having it feel stiff and heavy.

Another option would be to moisturize twice a day, but I'm not sure if this would be too much product on my hair, since I only wash once a week. What do you think?

Well I wear it down about once or twice a week, and when it's not down it's either in a chopstick bun or a banana clip bun.

Water followed by a creamy moisturizer followed by grape seed oil will keep you soft and moisturized. I use Miss Claudie's Satin Moisturizer.

What are you sealing with? Maybe you could try a heavier oil? If you do try this, be sure to only get the ends though. My forehead and EVOO got into a fight last week. Lol

At the start of my journey when my hair was really dry, I used to pre-poo and overnight DC a lot. I usually mixed extra virgin olive oil with Tresemme Moisture Rich Conditioner to get really intense moisture.