Wigs -a few questions from a novice

natstar

So I want to buy a good wig out there to change up my look when I feel like it. I'm natural and sometimes I want to go straight and get length w/out doing the work. Does anyone from Chicago know of any good wig places (besides BSS) that cater to african americans? Or is there a huge beauty supply place in Chicago where they have a wide variety of wigs? One more thing- who has worn wigs and which ones do you reccommend since I am new at this. Thanks ;)

Hey Nat,
Unfortunately, I do not have any Chicago info. I'm a novice trying to learn also. I'm natural also, and have chosen wigs as my protective style. So it's been a little over a month since I've been wearing them, so I'll just share what I've learned/done so far: All my purchases have been from BSS. I started out with synthetics (approx $30 each) just to make sure I actually liked wigs and cuz I couldn't find long human wigs. My first one was a "quick/instant" weave. I would totally recc this above any other wig as they look the most natural, and at most look like a weave - you just leave a tiny bit of hair out. Unfortunately, I can't wear them as my natural (pressed) hair reverts too easily in the summer heat. Then I went to full synthetic wigs (see my album) so far I'm happy with the Chade and Soul Tress/Pazazz line, but with synthetics I did not find a big difference in brands, just styles.
Now I'm ready to upgrade to human hair wigs. I have not seen any styles that I like at BSS's, as I want length and they seem to carry few/no styles longer than shoulder length! So I have been looking online and found some cool styles on eBay, after doing some research I've figured out that the popular/cute eBay brands are Zury and Motown Tresses, which are found at most BSS. I've felt the hair and it's nice and natural feeling. I don't know what brands are "better" than others in the under $150 range.
My tips are:
- Wigs always look better on in the store