What is the Best Way to Use Surge if you have a Relaxer?

bajanplums1

I have been reading about search forever on the board. However I have been reluctant because:

1. Last time I used a bit of surge my hair curled up at the roots.

2. How do I know that I really have new growth, it could just be all my old hair curling up /images/graemlins/perplexed.gif

So, any Surge experts out there? Please advise. Thanks!

[ QUOTE ]
I have been reading about search forever on the board. However I have been reluctant because:

1. Last time I used a bit of surge my hair curled up at the roots.

2. How do I know that I really have new growth, it could just be all my old hair curling up /images/graemlins/perplexed.gif

So, any Surge experts out there? Please advise. Thanks!

[/ QUOTE ]

Hey /images/graemlins/wave.gif

I'm no expert at all on Surge but here is my take on it and how I use it. I think it makes my hair thicker and less limp -- not longer. If I apply it on dry relaxed hair I immediately wrap it and secure it with pins and put on a scarf. I will have less curl at the root as you mentioned. I wear my hair curly (wet) most of the time and still can't distinguish my new growth from my relaxed hair./images/graemlins/perplexed.gifMaybe a past thread on Surge or one of the other ladies can help you on that one. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

I spray on Surge after I wash my hair ITA that it makes my hair seem thicker, after I spray it on and moisturize I pull my hair into a ponytail and tie it down with a silk scarf I don't blow dry and usually my hair is straight afterwards but I can see a distinction between my relaxed hair and new growth.

Bajanplums1-

I spray Surge on my hands and fingertips and work it onto my scalp that way, sometimes parting each section as if I were using grease. I don't use it as a leave-in (when hair is wet). I did when I first got it and I didn't like how it left my hair and scalp feeling afterwards.

HTH!