WEAVE Dilemma

honeycomb719

I'm thinking about getting a sewn-in weave, but I'm also due to get a relaxer this week. I'm at 11weeks and 10weeks has been my MAX or I get extreme shedding and breakage, and tangling.
My dilemma is this: Should I post-pone the relaxer until after I get the sewn-in done, or should I relaxer and wait about 2 weeks before I get the sewn-in weave?
I'm scared that if I wait to get the relaxer and get the sewn-in, I will experience major breakage and shedding due to the braids that need to put in so the hair can be sewn on. Because my roots are pretty thick at the moment and I know its not going to be easy trying to braid it up for the sewn-in without causing some hairs to snap off in the process.

What should I do? What would you do?
Any advice would be appreciated
smile.gif

I'm not an expert on braided hair weaves because I didn't have a very good experience, but I was wondering what do you normally do when you get a braided weave? How long has it been before or after a perm in the past?

I've oly had one once, and that was about 6yrs ago, and i cant remember but I know healthy hair practices was not in my vocab, so I'm not sure of the status of my hair....

well, if you normally get shedding around 10 or 11 weeks then do you think your hair will continue to shed more while in the braids.

Or, if you relax and then get braids after 2 weeks, do you think it will be too weak to withstand the strain from braids, thread and weave.

I personally had serious thinning and breakage from my sewn in weave. I don't recall when I relaxed it, but I know it wasn't too close or too far from a perm.

That's a tough one honeycomb.
ohwell.gif
What does the hairstylist suggest? I'm sure she is familiar with what may best, due to her experiences. Hopefully, that is.
look.gif