suggestions please

nychaelasymone

Hi ladies,

I just tried my hand at strectching my relaxer....I'm almost 8 weeks but my hair is breaking. I decided I'd just get a touch up next Wednesday but what can I do to curb the breakage. I have some shedding but mostly breakage. My hair is too short for an up do and right now, I'm just wrapping....but I don't even want to comb my hair. My roots are evil right now...okay I take that back....I love all this new growth....but I'm still learning how to effectively stretch.... n e on e have n e suggestions....please and thank you.

Oh....I used Qhemets amla oil on my scalp (bout every 3-4 days) and each night I've been applying Mizani's H20 night cream.......I try not to manipulate my hair much....

I want longer hair and that can't happen if it's breaking.

Do you need suggestions to assist a longer stretch or to stop the breakage? For a longer stretch in future, perhaps you should consider getting braids at some point during the stretch if your hair can handle it. That's how I conquered my first 14 week stretch. I found that minimal manipulation was the only way forward. I'm sure the other good ladies on this site can offer more advice. Good luck!

To combat breakage. I can't really do braids or weaves. Hmmmm I wonder if n e one here has been really successful in growing their hair out longer and healthier while still getting regular touch-ups.

I am at 17 weeks right now, this is my longest stretch, I find as long as you can keep the newgrowth soft, that is half the battle, I use NTM on my newgrowth I do a section at a time using a rat tail to part with, then go back and apply shea butter, or coconut oil to seal in the mositure, I then wear a bun or half wig, I want to touch up however I don't trust my stylist anymore, and do not have the courage to do it myself yet, the idea is to not let your hair get dry, HTH

Less manipulation = Less breakage
Don't comb your hair dry
Don't wrap your hair