Struggles of the fine haired natural

FtrDrO

I'm starting to realize that my hair is pretty fine, although of medium density, and that this poses some issues on its own. So my question is: What struggles have your fine tresses posed for you and what have you learned about overcoming them? (products, techniques, what to do and not do, etc)

Im still learning.
The hardest area for me right now is retention due to tangles and splits. If i slack on moisturizing and detangling properly, I get breakage. I have to pay close attention to my moisture level and how I style my hair so that I won't rip through it or find broken pieces everywhere. I am slowly but surely learning to pay closer attention to the products that I use and I am trying to narrow down what I know works for me.

I use to really want stright thick hair but my hair doesn't do that. I now do a lot of textured sets and i really like them (i.e. braid outs with rod curled ends; bantu knows, twist outs -the list goes on). They make my hair look fuller.

My hair has always been fine but now because of health reasons it is thin also. I am coming to the realization that I have to avoid heavy oils because it makes my hair look even thinner. I also can't wear stick straight hair or even straighten it very much. If I straighten, it has to be a light press, no oils and a heat protectant is a must.

Moisture and protien balance are very important or my hair will begin to break so I have to dc often and occasionally a mild-medium protien treatment. I henna as often as possible to increase the thickness and recently, I began trying thickeners. Small Talk by Tigi worked great at first but, then it began to cause my hair to break. I'm on to Superstar by Tigi now.

I'll be glad when it grows back and is thicker.