Step away from the towel and the shampoo!!!!!!!!!!

alireno

I have been natural for a little over a year now and through much trial and error, my hair is now in GREAT shape! I thought I would share two things that have really made a difference in my hair. First, I stopped using shampoo. I have been doing daily conditioner washes since November 2003. My hair is much softer and more manageable. I did notice that I constantly had dry frizzy spots in the top of my hair. After each CW, I used to pat my hair dry with a towel. About two weeks ago, I decided to not use a towel and apply my products to my soaking wet hair. Now I have no more dry frizzy spots. I also have not used any heat in my hair for about 4 years. Thank you LHCF for your contributions to my hair.!!!!!!!!!
grin.gif

Re: Step away fron the towel and the shampoo!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks for the tips. I stopped using blow dryers and diffusers about two weeks ago and I have really noticed an improvement in my hair. When I let my hair dry naturally,it feels softer than it would if I had applied heat.

Re: Step away fron the towel and the shampoo!!!!!!

good tips! i try not to rub with my towel...i just wrap it around my head and let it sit there for a while....i hate sitting around dripping wet...hehehe

the thing ive learned is that my hair is much happier when i just leave it alone! it was hard for me to get out of my relaxed mindset...that i could (or should) comb it and style it and play with it EVERY DAY....im a hair person, so it was hard for me to just braid it and leave it alone (except to wash)...but ive learned that this really is the best thing for it...silly me!
~T~

i never use a towel on my hair, but im a lil iffy on not using shampoo for such a long period of time.....