.::Sew-In/Weave-Queens Come on In!!::.

D.Lisha

Hi All!

I plan on getting a sew-in within the next two weeks to help with retaining length. This isn't my first sew in, but it is my first time doing it since I've been on my hair journey. With that being said, I want to ensure that I do it R I G H T. There are a few things I'd like to know:
  • What products do you use to wash/condition your weave/real hair?
  • What products should I avoid?
  • What's your method of moistruzing and sealing your real hair underneath the weave?
  • Is it ok if I apply a sulfur growh mix to my scalp 1-2x's a week?
  • How do I avoid Matting?
  • How often should I wash it?
All input is greatly appreciated :)!!!

buuuuuump. I'm with you girl. Sunday I got my first install in over a year ( I BCd/ started my HHJ in March) & would love some tips :)

What products do you use to wash/condition your weave/real hair?
Currently using Tresemme Color Thrive Brunette & Red Shampoo and conditioner

What products should I avoid?
You can use anything you like on your own hair, but I've found it best to avoid getting oil and hairspray on the weave - both lead to tangling for me

What's your method of moistruzing and sealing your real hair underneath the weave?
I spray braid spay, infusium or ic moisturiser on my braided hair.

Is it ok if I apply a sulfur growh mix to my scalp 1-2x's a week?
It depends on how your weave is installed since that might be a bit difficult to wash out -especially if you use a net or have vertical braids.

How do I avoid Matting?
Not sure if you're referring to the weave or your hair. For the weave - Avoid getting oil and hairspray on the weave and ensure that any heat appliances used aren't too hot. For your hair - I've never had an issue with matting since I've never kept an install longer than 6 weeks.

How often should I wash it?
I wash mine weekly - same as when I don't have a weave.

What products do you use to wash/condition your weave/real hair?