Relaxing half of hair while leaving rest natural? (long)

Kalani

I know this sounds strange but I'm letting the bottom half of my hair (nape area and surrounding area) grow natural while continuing to relax the top.

I've been relaxing my hair for about 15 yrs. I don't wear my hair straight very often infact most of time I air dry it and wear it out. I lose patience if my hair takes more than 10 minutes to style (15 including wash and condition time) hence my relaxing it. I've tried to grow it out natural a few times just to see if I could pull it off but it never seems to go over well with myself for very long (see earlier sentence about patience problems :lol: )

Anyway, the last few years I've noticed my hairs in the back of my head are doing poorly. They're very thin, dry and damaged. The rest of my hair is fine so I wonder if it has to do the fact that I have 2 completely different textures going on within those two halfs. The top part of my head is tightly curled corkscrews (still confused by the hairtyping thing but I'm thinking 3/c and 4/a?).
The bottom half is more of a looser curl (guessing 2/cish). I thought perhaps that this texture is has been more vulnerable to damage so I spared it from the last few retouches I've done ( I retouch every 2-3 monthes so its been a little over half a year since I've let the natural hairs grow in this area). The point is to restore the health of my lower half of the hair. So far the inches of new growth seems to blend in fine with the rest of the hair so I thought I'll continue this little experiment, but then I thought I better consult with the experts first before I run into any future problems that may arise. :perplexed

So ladies. Has anyone tried this or heard of this being successfully done? I welcome all info and advice.

senimoni said:
I know a few people have done this with success, one being JenMD.

Really?! Wow, I need to pay closer attention to the ladies hair stats on the board.

Good to know, thanks!