RELAXED OR PRESSED???

Which is more damaging ?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

qns1980

Which do you think is more damaging??? Getting a relaxer every few months or pressing (flat iron or straightening comb) every 1-2wks??

I'm no expert on this subject (I wish I was), I've just BC and turned natural.
I would say relaxing, you can try and protect your hair every time you press with products, and if done correctly heat can be your friend. But there is nothing to protect your hair when you want to relax as the purpose is to break down your hair to make it straight.

Another thing to consider is even when relaxed loads of people still like to press there hair once a week anyway.

Was natural/press and curl up until 6 years ago.

When I started relaxing I used to relax every 4-6 weeks BAD! For me.
That was very short lived and went back to natural/press and curl

Now about 2 -3 years ago I went back to relaxing and I relax every 12-18 weeks or 4x a year that is all and my hair is doing well with this. I just did a six month my hair did not like it, now that I seen why my hair did not like the 6 month I will attempt 2x a year in 2010.

I used to walk to school with a friend of mine every day and my friend would use a hot comb on the stove every single day =( I would tell her no, no, no I stopped walking with her b/c we would be late to school =(. Since she done this every day IMHO she was damaging her hair at that time.

When I had my press and curls done I would do them every 2 weeks.

I think it depends...there are many women on this board who relax every few months and their hair is long and thick. Then on the other hand there are women who press their hair every 2 weeks like pinkskates and, well, nuff said. So I think either way you can have long and healthy hair, it just would depend on how you take care of your hair after getting the relaxer (and the relaxing technique), and how you take care of your hair after the press (also the pressing technique).