Quick Survey: When did your childhood hair start breaking off?

When did you notice childhood hair breaking off?

• After using Adult relaxers

Votes: 27 41.5%
  • After taking care of your own hair

Votes: 25 38.5%
  • I don't even know how

Votes: 6 9.2%
  • Other

Votes: 7 10.8%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

bellecheveux

Just curious. Please explain in full detail.

I noticed that all my hair started breaking off once I graduated to "Grown-up" relaxers. There could be a multitude of other reasons, but this was the primary reason.

I had to beg my mom for a relaxer. Even though my first one went badly, my mom paid for me to go to good salons & I wore a lot of protective styles (like braids, phony ponies, & etc because they were in style...think Alicia Keys, Brandy), so my hair stayed pretty healthy. Adult relaxers were fine on my hair- kiddie perms did not straighten it.

When I started trying to do my own hair and be "trendy" & emulate styles on my hair that were created using weave, I experience a lot of breakage.

When I got a relaxer it broke off. I didn't have a chance to be cute with the relaxer! My hair thinned out and broke off so I started wearing braids. Then I started doing my own hair and that was tragic as well.

ETA: middle school was when my hair suffered the most. high school i lived in braids.

Last edited:
My hair was breaking off before I even got a relaxer. When I first relaxed, my hair was only shoulder length. I realize now my mom didn't know a lot about hair care. I remember her combing excessively rough, and I know now this was excessive because there are ways to help the combing process. For example, not combing my hair DRY!

So yeah, now she and I are both natural, and I'm actually teaching her lessons through what I've learned here. Now my hair will grow longer than it's ever been in my life (God willing).