please help I'm a newbie!!

NAKISH66

Today I went and relaxed my hair after a long stretch and my beautician switched from Mizani to Essations. She put it in my hair and it looks okay, BUT............... I just researched it and it's NO LYE:perplexed I read on here that you should not put No lye relaxers on top of Lye relaxers. I just wanted to know if my hair is damaged now? I don't plan on relaxing again until January. Is there anything I can do to make sure my hair doesn't start breaking off or shedding. I'm sticking with Mizani Mild after this I SWEAR!! I want to post a picture on here because it doesn't look bad, and I'm suprised by my porgress so far. I'm scared that all my progress is going to go down the drain (literally). Any suggetions would be greatly appreciated!!

Hi Nakish66 and welcome to the board. Just relax. If you aren't having a problem with shedding and breakage then don't worry about it. Continue till do what you usually do after having your hair relaxed and if you can please post pictures.

I've put a no lye relaxer over lye before and had no problems at all. Maybe you could just pay close attention to your hair from this point and see if anything changes with it. if so then address your problems as they come IF you ever have any problems.

Last edited:
Welcome :wave: Take a deeeeeeep breadth *hold* and let it out *release*.
If your hair is not shedding/ breaking/ strawlike or acting in any other strange and un-yourhairlike (great new word huh?;) ) manner then don't panic. Observe it in the next few days and add some light proteins into you reggie and it should be all good:cool: If not, the LHCF squad are here 24/7 to assist iin the meantime do a search on newly relaxed hair to see what others do after getting a fresh one HHG!

I switched from Mizani, to ORS no lye, with no probleums at all, as previous ladies have said, pay attention to your hair, and come here often, your progress will continue, :)