OMG im so overwhelmed!

swimchick77

Hey everyone! im a newbie to this site and i just recently decided I want to become natural. im 20 years old and in the navy and i have been on deployment for about 6 months now so i have had a lot of time to do research. i think i have 3c/4a hair. Gee whiz there is soooo much info i dont even know where to begin!! Im trying to start a regimen.

this is what i have been doing for the last 2 weeks:
shampoo once a week with Nature's Gate Jojoba Revitalizing Shampoo
cowash 4-5X a week with Neutogena Triple Moisture Silk Touch
then use KCKT as my leave in
Seal w/ pure extra virgin coconut oil
I also moisturize and seal at night and sleep with a silk scarf
However my hair is still dry and my curls are really frizzy.
Could you ladies point me to the right direction of where to get started please!! thanks :yawn:

For starters WELCOME!!!!

The reason why your curls are so dry is because all the moisture is locked out from constantly co-washing with the NTM conditioner. That conditioner is chock full of
-cones. You need to make time for a clarifying shampoo.

Why are you co-washing so often?

Also another thing is to consider you might be dealing with hard water depending on where you are in the world.

You can check hard water states/countries on google.

ITA with MyJourney2009,
The frequent co-washing is drying your hair. Try co-washing once a week with another condish and skip the shampooing. Do you have natural and relaxed hair? Are you transitioning? Depending on the length and if you're transitioning, I would say keep it very low maintenance as far as styling and manipulating. This way you can decrease any breakage that may occur. Try buns and rollersets until you're completely natural. Once you've cut down the co-washes, you can see how your hair responds to your nightly moisturizing and sealing.

Congrats on your decision and hang in there!!